Five Languages of love

Almost a decade ago, an older wiser colleague of mine mentioned the theory of ‘Love Languages’. You see, I used to think of love in two dimensions – actions and or words. But according to this theory, there are five ways to express love; Quality Time, Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Physical Touch and Receiving Gifts.

The interesting part about this theory is not that there are five expressions of love, but rather that we as individuals, value these ‘languages of love’ differently – and therefore we feel and show love in our dominate language.

For example, Quality Time is my primary ‘language’ – meaning I feel most loved when someone dedicates their time and attention to me. Likewise, I show love by giving my time and undivided attention.

My overall scores are as follows: 10 – Quality Time, 8 – Acts of Services, 8 – Words of Affirmation, 2 – Receiving Gifts, 2 – Physical Touch.

My husband on the other hand, has a very dominant primary language of Physical Touch followed by Acts of Service – Yes, he’s your typical male.

So why is this important? Well, what I’ve gained from this exercise is understanding… knowing that every light touch, every kiss, every foot rub, coffee and grocery run were all my husbands highest expression of love.
It also provided me with a better understanding of how to best show him love – my undivided attention or words of affirmation don’t have the same impact on him as say a long holding hug or a kiss goodbye every morning.

Knowing and speaking each-others love language is not only something you should do with your partner, but any loving relationship – your parents, siblings, friends. Understanding makes us better people and in my case, happier people.

Interested in doing the test? Visit here. Would love to hear what you all get!


Tagged ,

One thought on “Five Languages of love

  1. […] * Inside joke about this post […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: